Building an ALIX firewall

It’s been a long time since I updated my firewall. Right now it’s a PC Engines ALIX 2c2 that I’ve been really happy with. I used flashdist and put OpenBSD 4.4 on it.

I think that’s a winning combination, but it’s time to upgrade. First, I want to go to OpenBSD 5.1. Next, flashdist has been replaced with flashrd, which is easier to install and use, and more appropriate for larger CF cards.

I started by getting an ALIX 2d2 (just one more IDE header than the 2c2, not much change). I bought it from mini-box.com, and I also picked up the custom enclosure for it and a power supply.

I already had a 4 GB CF card: a Kingston 4GB elite pro 133X, which was new when I built the original firewall. Make sure you have a good CF writer. I’ve had failures with cheapies, but got a Kingston FCR-HS219/1 and that worked.

There are a number of steps to get a working firewall. They are:

  1. Getting OpenBSD 5.1 on the ALIX
  2. Setting up networking for the ALIX firewall
  3. Setting up PF for the ALIX firewall
  4. Setting up BIND on the ALIX firewall
  5. Final cleanup for the ALIX firewall
5 Responses to Building an ALIX firewall

  1. […] post is part of Building an ALIX firewall) Rate this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  2. […] next step in building an ALIX firewall is to set up […]

  3. […] post is part of Building an ALIX firewall) Rate this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  4. […] post is part of Building an ALIX firewall) Rate this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  5. […] post is part of Building an ALIX firewall) Rate this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

Leave a Reply

